Cavplex - Convergence Media Awards 2016-2017

The Archive yearbook

SCSPA

Superior Overall rating 1st place Feature Copy-Chandni Amin 1st place Sports Photo-Jordan Watkins 2nd place Spread Design-Allison Killinger 2nd place Feature Photo-Jordan Watkins 2nd place Cover-Yeji Bang 3rd place Candid Photo-Katrina Gainey

SIPA

Superior rating

On-Site Best Single Image-Matthew Cao

Writing

1st place Group Copy-Chandni Amin 2nd place Student Life Copy-Chandni Amin

Visuals

Best of Show Academic Spread-Matthew Cao Award of Merit Academic Spread-Kelly Lifchez Award of Merit Alternative Copy-Allison Killinger Award of Merit Cover-Allison Killinger Award of Merit End Sheet-Allison Killinger Award of Merit Opening Spread-Allison Killinger Award of Merit Sports Spread-Jalyn Dockery Award of Merit Title Page-Allison Killinger

The Cavalier (Newspaper)

CSPA

1st place Sports Photography-Jordan Watkins 2nd place Typography (art headline)- Jekima Hibbert and Yessica Naranjo Honorable Mention Typography (look of page)-Jekima Hibbert and Yessica Naranjo Honorable Mention Design Portfolio-Yeji bang, Jekima Hibbert, and Yessica Naranjo

SIPA

All-Southern rating Visuals Best of Show New Photography-Ella Rayl Honorable Mention Infographic-Casey Collins Honorable Mention Op/Ed-Casey Collins

SCSPA

Superior rating

Fall

1st place Centerspread- Jekima Hibbert and Yessica Naranjo

1st place Columna-Juan Pacheco

1st place Editorials-Jekima Hibbert

1st place Front Page Design-Jekima Hibbert

1st place Layout/Design- Jekima Hibbert

1st place News Features-Reema Saleh

1st place Photography-Jordan Watkins

1st place Reviews-Yessica Naranjo

1st place Sports-Casey Collins

3rd place Features-Jekima Hibbert

Spring

1st place Art - Lina Saleh 1st place Centerspread - Kate Baker and Casey Collins 1st place Computer graphics - Casey Collins 1st place Features - Lina Saleh 1st place Front page design - Kate Baker 1st place Photography - Ella Rayl 1st place Centerspread - Jekima Hibbert and Yessica Naranjo 1st place Layout - Jekima Hibbert and Yessica Naranjo 1st place News features - Reema Saleh 1st place Photography - Jordan Watkins 1st place Reviews - Yessica Naranjo 1st place Sports - Casey Collins 2nd place Columns - Ellie Pobis 2nd place News Features - Casey Collins, Josh Pearson, Lina Saleh 2nd place Sports - Josh Pearson 2nd place Editorials - Jekima Hibbert 2nd place Front page design - Jekima Hibbert 3rd place Editorials - Casey Collins 3rd place Reviews - Lina Saleh 3rd place Columns - Juan Pacheco

RNE-TV broadcast

JEA

Special Recognition National Broadcast Adviser Southeast Emmys Honorable Mention Newscast SIPA Superior Rating Vice-president-Sydney Tisdale Talent show champion

Writing Contest 1st place Academic-Sharon Nathaniel 1st place News-Tyler Wise 1st place PSA-Jordyn Livingston 1st place PSA-Jordyn Livingston 2nd place Sports-Malcolm Tyson 2nd place Academic-Kayla Jeffers and Ronitra Wilson 2nd place News-Leverette Williams 2nd place PSA-Kayla Jeffers 2nd place PSA-Kayla Jeffers 2nd place Sports-Malcolm Tyson 3rd place Academic-Anyla Jackson 3rd place News-Clarkson Broadwater 3rd place Sports-Jamie Collins

Visual Contest

Best of Show Graphics-Henry Horlbeck Best of Show Reporter- Yasmin Lee Best of Show Sports-Malcolm Tyson Award of Merit Music Video-Wade Fletcher, Brandon Pendergrass, and John Jeffrey Award of Merit PSA-Kayla Jeffers Honorable Mention Videography-Wade Fletcher

SCSPA

Best in State Broadcast All-State rating Most Improved Broadcast President-Ronitra Wilson Broadcast Representative-Henry Horlbeck 1st place Graphics-Henry Horlbeck 1st place Graphics-Henry Horlbeck 1st place PSA-Kayla Jeffers 1st place Sports-Malcolm Tyson 2nd place Feature-Wade Fletcher and Omari Chapman 3rd place News-Tyler Wise and Leverette Williams 3rd place News-Tyler Wise and Leverette Williams 3rd place News-Human Interest-Kayla Jeffers and Ronitra Wilson 3rd place Photo Contest-Leverette Williams **C-SPAN Student Cam** Honorable Mention-Tyler Wise, Leverette Williams, and Henry Horlbeck

The Saber online newspaper SCSPA

Honor rating

Fall

1st place Digital Storytelling-Elena Horton, Jamie Collins, and Hannah Shimmel 1st place Computer Graphics-Javian Brown

1st place Videography-Malcom Tyson

2nd place News Features-Matthew Traufler, Kayle Jeffers, and Ronitra Wilson 2nd place Sports-Malcolm Tyson, Matthew Traufler, and Robert Counts

Spring

1st place Computer Graphics-Javian Brown

1st place Opinion-Elena Horton

2nd place Digital Storytelling

Matthew Traufler, Sydney Tisdale, Liana Robbins, and Thalia Watkins 2nd place Videography-Christian Wilburn and Kayla Jeffers 3rd place Features-Joe Coveney

Psyche literary magazine

SCSPA

Superior Overall rating 1st place Photography-Yessica Naranjo 1st place Short Story-Gracie Boyce 1st place Spread Design-Ellie Pobis 2nd place Poem-Ellie Pobis 3rd place Front Page-Robert Brook

SIPA

Excellent rating On-Site Best Design-Ellie Pobis, Gracie Boyce, and Caroline Williamson Best Overall-Ellie Pobis, Gracie Boyce, and Caroline Williamson

Writing Contest 3rd place Poetry-Ellie Pobis

Visuals Best of Show Cover-Robert Brook Best of Show Gallery Spread-Yessica Naranjo Best of Show Table of Contents-Amanda Locklear